The Messenger

Posted: March 31, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , ,

There is no such thing as a simple,sudden, “fall from grace”.

It is, instead, a climb..Down.

Every step of the way is – a choice.

But, If you know the Lord, He will always give you a way out- (and up)

“- And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” I Corinthians 10:13

God will speak, or shout, or whisper, or use other people, to deter you from what he knows will hurt you (and others)

The problem is; we don’t always listen or, even recognize his voice.

Many years ago I stood in a place I should never have been.

I was meeting (without my husband’s knowledge) a man I had formed a relationship with on the internet.

It seemed like an “innocent meeting” at the time.

It was at his place of work. He was working and he was married (and he had assured me he loved his wife)

What could go wrong?..

Honestly, I knew the answer to that question.

I knew I was walking into waters way too deep (with a current way too strong)

But, being about “halfway down” the rungs of my own “fall from grace”, I was not using wisdom (or even reason) .

As I stood there and had a casual conversation with this man, an elderly gentleman/customer approached. He placed his order with my “friend” and then proceeded to carry on a seemingly innocent conversation as he waited.

He spoke about the weather.

He spoke about his daughter.

 He spoke about an email or letter (I was not fully listening)

and then he spoke about adultery..(I recall thinking “well, that’s rather awkward..”)

He quoted a Bible verse against adultery then he smiled, said something about God being good, took his order and left.

There was nothing more.

“That was the mayor” my companion told me.

“Hmm, Nice guy.” I replied “But that part about adultery was a bit weird..?”

Silence…

As I drove home an hour later I had a “moment “.

I pulled my car over and prayed ;

“Oh God, please don’t let me fall too far!”…

I’m sure God was listening. I’m sure He answered.

BUT..

I’m sure He also said,

“I just sent you a messenger!. I just gave you a way out!”

But, I did not hear Him.

I chose Not to hear Him.

I’m sorry to say, I never spoke to God again after that day;

not until I had fully “fallen from grace”..

and was- shattered- and restored – and lifted back up..

I am so blessed..

My marriage is so blessed.

But, never doubt, there are CONSEQUENCES..

I still wish I had listened to “The Messenger”.

God will Always provide a way out, my friend..

But, Your choice, is to listen –

or not.

 

#chooselife

 

” I have set before you life and death, blessings and curses. Now choose life, so that you and your children may live” Deut. 30:19

Leave a Reply

