A Glimpse of Jesus

Posted: March 25, 2014 in Uncategorized

believe

Today I met the sweetest old man.

I could tell in a heartbeat he was what the world might call “simple” or “senile”..

but, in that same moment, I also “knew” he was so, so special.

His countenance just – glowed.

Small of stature, full white beard, and piercing blue eyes;

He reminded me of someone who might play Santa Claus-

As I put up a poster at a local establishment (for an upcoming concert at my church) he called out excitedly from behind me;

” Young lady, is that Christian music?”

( he gets points for calling me a Young lady too..:)

When I answered him,

” Why yes, it is.”

He exclaimed happily,( and loudly)

” Oh Good! I know Jesus! ”

No fear of who heard. No pious declarations.

This was pure devotion – straight from the heart..

Charmed by his honest outburst I turned and told him

” That is so awesome! So do I!”

As I walked out the door my eyes just happened to lock on the gaze of another older gentlemen, sitting in a dining chair nearby.

His eyes were full of intelligence, amusement, and.. gratefulness..

(I wonder now if he knew the other man..I wonder now who he was…)

Needless to say, I left with a huge smile plastered on my face.

But, as I drove to my next destination, I found myself pulling the car over – overcome by tears!

Oh God, if I only had just a little sliver of that man’s simple, childlike, faith!

If only we all did!

I was suddenly truly humbled – and in Awe.

What had just happened?

You see, I’ve been praying for Jesus to reveal himself to me; to show me more of who He really is..

This morning was difficult, (spiritually) and, to be honest, I was ready to come to this blog with an entirely different entry..

( all about Fighting the enemy and standing our ground)

I will probably still write that other entry; It’s important.

But, not today.

Today is about HIM.

Because, no matter who thinks this is crazy,

I’m pretty sure that today, in the form of a sweet, simple, old man,,

I caught a true glimpse

of my Jesus ..

I’m overwhelmed..”wrecked” ,as they say..(now I understand the term)

and completely humbled…

“I can guarantee this truth: Unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Whoever becomes like this little child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven.” -Jesus (Matthew 18:2-4)
#angelsunaware

Leave a comment