Of Human (and Spiritual) Bondage

Posted: February 28, 2014 in Uncategorized
Tags:

 

Yesterday, all around the world, people from all walks of life, wore a red X on their hand to raise awareness of the very real, very current horror, of modern day slavery ( http://enditmovement.com/ )
My heart, like many others, was moved to participate in this event. (photo)
But, as I drew the X on my hand and took the time to pray, God began to move in my thoughts..
When we view videos and images of the modern day slave trade, (the sex trade and human trafficking in particular) we see pictures of children, young women, and even men, physically and psychologically forced into exploiting their bodies for the selfish, debased, pleasure of others.
It makes me sick.
It makes me angry.
It makes me want to do something to help..
But, as I thought of these victims and lifted them in prayer, the Holy Spirit began to bring other individuals to my mind..
I suddenly saw the prostitutes and “courtesans” of the world.
I saw women at a strip club turning “tricks” after their shift “to make ends meet” for a baby at home..
I even saw young women in their teens and twenties, affluent and poor alike, flaunting and using their sexuality for money and power and love..
These are the individuals who say they “choose” what they do for a living, (on the side or in secret.).
Many are the women (and men) of what we call  The Oldest “Profession” in the world..
A burning question seared through me as I saw them in my minds eye..
“Are these any less “slaves” than those who are forced into their servitude?..
I realize this is a hard question. But, I also realize there are really two basic kinds of slavery;
Spiritual and Physical. (and, sadly, they often follow one another)
Slaves forced by the whip, the fist, or the gun, into servitude, are victims of the physical. But, what of those in the same type of “servitude” convinced that what they are doing is “their own choice”?..
Most in the sexual “profession” would argue that their lifestyle is “Their decision” and that, as such, they can also choose to walk away any time they want.
But is it really that easy?
The Scriptures say that whatever overcomes a person, to that he is enslaved” (2 Peter)

I realize some may object to this topic and perhaps think it’s not right to even ponder such things. For a moment, I would like you to remember that what I am speaking of now is Spiritual slavery.

Honestly, can any of us say we have never been in bondage?

I know I can’t…

Whether the “addiction”, “weakness”, or “guilty pleasure”, was drink, or gossip, or anger, or pride, or drugs, or even sex..not one of us has Not been a SLAVE spiritually or physically( to sin), at one time or another.

But, herein is the hope.

As children of the King, redeemed from darkness, freedom is the reality we hold in the present living of our daily lives as God desires

(No turning back, No giving in, No longer a slave!)

On a day like yesterday I was blessed not only to raise awareness for Physical, Human Bondage but for Spiritual Bondage as well!

By grace and love alone I stand today,FREE. No longer in bondage to sin and shame..

I pray this truth brings hope to those still in bondage.

I pray it brings hope to those who believe they are where they are in life- by choice

( You Are So Much MORE, sister or brother.You Don’t have to walk a broken road).

My simple words in these posts never seem to express the depths of my heart on these matters. But, I pray what does come across is this:

“I once was lost but now I’m found. Once was blind but now I see!..” ” No longer a slave, but God’s child.”(Gal 4:7)

Prayers for each and every slave in this world tortured and beat and tormented by the evil hearts and hands of wicked men..

God sees your tears, your pain.

He loves you. Unconditionally..

#breakeverychain

Leave a Reply

