No “Backups” needed

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Uncategorized

In our world today we hear so much about “back up”  and “contingent plans.” Possible destruction and apocalyptic scenarios seem to be looming just on the horizon causing many people, filled with fear, to stockpile on extra food, water and emergency supplies. While I do see the wisdom in preparing for the unexpected(in moderation) I also wonder about the nature of our hearts in these matters.

Just recently I watched a television show that brought these thoughts to the forefront of my mind. In the show, the main character discovered his girlfriend had “backups” of everything in her home. For every outfit, for every shoe, for every box of cereal, there was another just like it. While this was disturbing enough, he also found out she was “backing up” in relationships as well. Because of fear of rejection, she had created a contingent plan for everything in her life, even in her relationships, “just in case”..

While to some this may seem wisdom (although the stockpiling of exact replicas of food and clothes might be just a tad OCD..) the scenario really hit home with me. I realized, not many years ago, I had been just like her. While I had Not been stockpiling food and clothes, I Had created “back up ” plans in my spiritual life, and, even in my relationships..”just in case”..But, why? and “just in case” of what?

What exactly are we doing when we create these kind of “back ups” in our lives?  Could it be we are saying; “God, I don’t trust you will take care of me. “Just in case” you fail me I am going to make sure I make some plans of my own to fall back on.”…? Is this faith? Trust? Or are we acting out of fear?

Did you know the very God who created the amazing universe,who breathed life into the heart of creation, has made promises to His people concerning these things? In Jeremiah 29:11 God says;

” I know the plans I have for you,” -.They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”

I truly believe that same promise holds true for His people today. (and if we know Jesus, we are His people, His children) God has our best in mind. He is forming and molding our lives. And His word remains, filled with promises to us. Romans 8:28 says;

“we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love Him and are called according to his purpose.”..and in Duet. 7:9 it is declared;

“The Lord your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps his covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes his unfailing love on those who love him and obey his commands.”

With promises like these who needs “back up plans”?! ( I know I no longer do!)

Today, instead of “backing up” your life “just in case”, choose to place your trust in Him and do not worry . Pray instead about everything and tell Him what you need. And then, praise Him with your whole heart for all He has already done! (Phil 4:6)

Blessings.

-Melinda Clark

Leave a Reply

